J's Indie/Rock Mayhem

Playlists, podcasts and music from WQFS Greensboro's J's Indie/Rock Mayhem

Monday, June 12, 2006

extra mayhem - 11th june 2006

[after an unintended week's hiatus, extra mayhem is back with a double dose of the wholesale album of the week. i was so disappointed at not getting to do the album last week that i decided just to double up on them. i'm only doing this show for the summer and i want to cram as many fantastic albums as i can into this show. so we had to skip a bit on the mayhem this week and just go straight to the goods. gooey mayhem fun will return next week. until then, onward.]

Theme Song - Peaches - "Rock Show"
[so here we are with the first wholesale album of the week: released in 1977, this album has slowly become one of the secret handshake type records. if you talk to someone who knows this album, you know they're alright. featuring not one, but two amazing guitarists, a heap of somewhat cryptic but mythologizing post-beat poetry and a rhythm section that should be the envy of just about everyone in the world. the american public rightly didn't know what to do with this record upon its initial release, but its cult status has done nothing but grow since then, garnering it the #83 spot on VH1's top 100 rock albums of all time and #128 on rolling stone's top 500 albums list. jazz saw some of its finest influence on rock with the fractured guitars on this album. our first wholesale album of the week.]

Track Listing

1. See No Evil
2. Venus
3. Friction [click to download]
4. Marquee Moon [click to download]
5. Elevation
6. Guiding Light
7. Prove It
8. Torn Curtain

[our second wholesale album hails from a bit more recent times: 1993 to be exact. it was this band's first album for their new major lable home of elektra (fittingly enough, also home to television) after leaving the well-known indie arms of sub pop records. this record would prove to be their calling card, the one that announced that a truly fierce force was really hitting its stride, something that was being hinted at by its predecessor, congregation. fellow QFS dj, mad dog, often calls this the darkest record of the 90s and if you listen to the lyrics, especially to songs like "what jail is like," you'll hear exactly what he means. delving even further into the developing influence of 60s/70s r&b and soul, indie-rock in america was really getting its sexy, disturbing groove on. our second wholesale album is the afghan whigs' gentlemen.]

Track Listing

1. If I Were Going
2. Gentlemen
3. Be Sweet
4. Debonair
5. When We Two Parted
6. Fountain and Fairfax
7. What Jail Is Like [click to download live version recorded at KTCL]
8. My Curse
9. Now You Know [click to download live version recorded at KTCL]
10. I Keep Coming Back
11. Brother Woodrow/Closing Prayer

Wholesale Teaser - Pulp - "Babies" [and the teaser for next week's wholesale album. from 1994's his 'n' hers. pulp is one of my favorite groups of all time and if you've never been exposed to jarvis cocker's insightful, clever and witty take on english class, well, you're in for a treat. as always, this is not from the album you'll hear next week, but now you know the artist, so you'll have to tune in to hear the album itself.]

That's it for this week. I'll talk to y'all on Wednesday night on the Indie/Rock Mayhem, and next week on Extra Mayhem. Until then, go Hurricanes, and take care.



Post a Comment

<< Home