J's Indie/Rock Mayhem

Playlists, podcasts and music from WQFS Greensboro's J's Indie/Rock Mayhem

Monday, August 07, 2006

extra mayhem - 6th august 2006

[as the summer begins its slow winding-up process, so does extra mayhem which will be coming to a halt on sunday, august 27th. that will be the last episode until at least next summer. so that means only 3 more shows and oh, the tension for what the wholesale albums will be.

this week's wholesale album, as mentioned in the previous post, was influenced by the passing of arthur lee. the main orchestrating force behind 60s psych-folk band love, lee passed away at the age of 61 after battling lukemia. in tribute, we took a look at love's defining moment and an inescapable cult moment in rock and roll. but we have to get through other music to get there first. so onward.]

Theme Song - Peaches - "Rock Show"
Midlake - "Roscoe" [from the trials of van occupanther. i like this song a lot, even if my exploration of the rest of the album hasn't mined quite as good results, but this song is solid. mid-tempo rock that needs no introduction, feeling right at home from moment one in your ear.]
Ryan Adams - "Wonderwall" [his quite nice version of the oasis classic from the love is hell LP, originally from love is hell part one EP.]
Killing Joke - "The Wait" [from their self-titled debut. there's something really fascinating about this album that has left it simultaneously timeless and yet still very firmly rooted in its age. i like it all the same.]
Tom McRae - "Bloodless" [from his mercury prize nominated self-titled debut. i don't think this album has worn as well as it should, but there are a few songs like this that still really get me when i listen.]
the Church - "All I Know" (live) [a new song exclusive to the tin mine compilation being sold on their current u.s. tour. i saw them saturday in myrtle beach at the house of blues and recorded an interview with lead singer/bassist steve kilbey that i'll be playing this wednesday on indie/rock mayhem. this is definitely the biggest interview score of my radio career, so tune in.]
Mary Lou Lord - "Lights Are Changing" [the first mary lou lord song i ever heard and still one of my favorites. this is her take on nick soloman/bevis frond's classic song. from her got no shadow LP.]
John Wesley Harding - "Still Photo" [from new deal. one of my favorites of his.]
the Emergency - "Breakdown A Go-Go" [from their breathtaking power-pop debut how do you move? hey, guys, where's the new album already?]
Casey Dienel - "Doctor Monroe" [from her latest wind-up canary. casey is the kind of songwriter you honestly don't hear much of anymore. a storyteller's penchant for lyrics, piano, shifting time signatures, classic pop music. it takes some adjusting, but then it hits you over the head like a sack of hammers. check out a live version from daytrotter.com by clicking here.]
the Catherine Wheel - "Delicious" [from their adam and eve album. i saw rob dickinson, the catherine wheel's former frontman, open for the church. he's a very amiable guy and was nice enough to do an unscheduled voice ID for us as well.]
Jay Farrar - "Clear Day Thunder" [from his first solo album, the excellent sebastopol.]
the Velvet Underground - "Pale Blue Eyes" [from the velvet underground, as in their 3rd album, not the one with nico. a great, great song.]

[this week's wholesale album is, of course, dedicated to the recent passing of love's main architect, arthur lee. love was only really love for their first three albums and they hit the sweet spot on their third album, forever changes. despite all the attention given to lee, as it should be following recent events, love was home to two sharp songwriters: arthur lee and bryan maclean. lee is responsible for the lion's share of the songs on love's first three albums, but maclean is always present, here turning in probably love's most famous song of late, "alone again or." (most famous of late due to numerous covers - especially the tremendous version by calexico and nicolai dunger from calexico's convict pool EP a couple of years ago.)

despite drug problems, record label threats and all sorts of things that nearly got in the way, they concocted this masterpiece of psychadelic-folk that had huge critical implications up into today. this album is constantly cited as one of the best cult records in rock and roll and honestly its absence from vh1's top 100 rock albums from back in 2000 or so is still a shame on them. if you want to read more about the record specifically, check out allmusic's review and then come back here for an actual listen. this week's wholesale album is...]

Track Listing

1. Alone Again Or [click to download.]
2. A House is Not a Motel
3. Andmoreagain
4. The Daily Planet
5. Old Man [click to download.]
6. The Red Telephone
7. Maybe the People Would Be the Times or Between Clark and Hilldale [click to download.]
8. Live and Let Live
9. The Good Humor Man He Sees Everything Like This
10. Bummer in the Summer
11. You Set the Scene [click to download.]

Wholesale Teaser - Tom Waits - "Alice" [the title track from his musical score to the play. as i said, i'm pushing the tom waits back to next week, so tune in next sunday night for a tom waits classic in its entirety. maybe i'll have gotten over not seeing him by then. not bloody likely.]

That's it for this week. I'll talk to you Wednesday night when I'll (hopefully) be broadcasting my interview with Steve Kilbey of the Church. Until then, take care!



Post a Comment

<< Home