J's Indie/Rock Mayhem

Playlists, podcasts and music from WQFS Greensboro's J's Indie/Rock Mayhem

Monday, May 21, 2007

extra mayhem - 20th may 2007

[and welcome to the 2007 debut episode of j's extra mayhem. if you were around last summer then you remember the conceit. more eccentric stuff than the normal show, put together in odder, less sensical contexts. also more diverse in style at times. and the second hour always dedicated to the wholesale album of the week. a classic album in its entirety. we'll get to that in a moment.

the podcast of the sunday night shows will only be of the first hour, up until the wholesale album. i hope that it's obvious why i won't be including podcasts of entire albums here on the blog. i'm sure you'll understand. but i have a lot of fun with the first hour, so want to include it, as well as a few choice cuts from the album of the night. i hope you enjoy.

so, let's do it. onward.]

J's Extra Mayhem Podcast: 20th May 2007 Show

Theme Song - Peaches - "Rock Show"
Q and Not U - "Soft Pyramids" [from their 2002 album different damage. i still am amazed by this record. i thought them done for sure after the departure of their original bass player - and then their decision not to replace him! but instead they produced a challenging, even more engaging effort than their debut. post-punk at its finest.]
Neu! - "Lila Engel" [from neu's second album, 2. where their self-titled debut was fairly of a piece, their second album is a genius mess, jumping all over the place in style, tempo and mood. if sound (as opposed to music - though there is plenty of that as well) is something you enjoy, neu is a great band to get into.]
Rufus Wainwright - "Foolish Love" [the lead track from his debut self-titled album. rufus actually has a new album that just came out last week, but after the clattering row that was the neu! song, i thought the sweet sentiment of this song would make an appropriately jarring follow-up.]
Black Arabs - "Anarchy for the U.K./God Save the Queen/Pretty Vacant/No One is Innocent (medley)" [from the great rock 'n' roll swindle soundtrack. a disco group that does a tremendously enjoyable medley of some pistols' favorites. after years of owning this, i finally saw the film for the first time a month or so ago. i fell asleep somewhere in the middle. worth seeing, but not more than once.]
the National - "Fake Empire" [the lead track from their forthcoming album boxer which is due out tuesday. my review of this album will be up here tomorrow.]
the Godz - "Lay in the Sun" [from contact high with the godz. i downloaded this album after some lester bangs pieces i'd read about the godz. drugged out, droning, noisy folk that is oddly infectious and soothing in a very weird way. has to be heard to be believed, really.]
Howe Gelb - "Felonious" [recorded under the pseudonym 'howe home' (and the name under which the record was released), this is from gelb's solo record, the listener. the weirdness of giant sand transfers well to these sometimes softer, more jazz inflected pieces. i've always really enjoyed this album. howe gelb is a taste not everyone has - but so worth it.]
Gary Numan - "The Aircrash Bureau" (live) [from living ornaments '81, the recorded live document of numan's 'last' live show. originally from his 1980 album telekon. he claimed at the time to be retiring from live performances - of course he'd be back in about 3 or 4 years, but at the time, he was at the peak of his popularity and this was quite a big deal. it's an amazing concert with numan moving through pieces from his first four albums and a couple from his then un-released 5th album. a necessary listen for any numan fan.]
Fountains of Wayne - "A Fine Day for a Parade" [from the amazing utopia parkway. one of the many pure pop gems on this record.]
Olivia Tremor Control - "California Demise Pt. 1"/"California Demise Pt. 2" [from presents: singles and beyond. the version of 'california demise' i'm most familiar with is actually part three and shows up on their 1999 album black foliage, but these earlier tracks are really interesting. the more i listen to this band, the more brilliant i find them.]
the Mamas and the Papas - "California Dreaming" [from 1966's if you can believe your eyes and ears. i was obsessed with this song as a child. my mom even bought a cheap compilation of a bunch of 60s songs on cassette just so i'd have a copy of the song. to this day, there's something so eerily perfect about it, that i can't explain. but it is one of the most perfect songs ever created.]
Hayden - "I'm to Blame" [from his debut, everything i long for. this is one of the slower, piano ballads that dot the album from time to time. i listened to it today for the first time in quite awhile and it's a scattershot mess of tempos and even styles, but there's a brilliant sense of songwriting purpose here. none of his subsequent albums have been this spread out (for good and bad), but it gives this one a feel all its own in his catalogue.]
Sam Cooke - "A Change is Gonna Come" [a gorgeous, sorrowful, hopeful song. that's sam cooke for you.]

[tonight's wholesale album of the week is, for my money, one of the most flawless pop rock records of the last 25 years. released in 1989, it inspired enough fever to have people declaring them the second coming of the saviours of rock and roll. hailing from manchester, england, the band was part of the riotous 'madchester' scene that erupted there in the late 80s/early 90s and also contained baggy howlers the happy mondays and the charlatans. where the mondays were the dancier, druggier part of the movement, this band represented the dance beats that existed within classicist pop. even though the band would fall apart, take 5 years to release their follow up (the much maligned and (IMHO) underrated second coming) and then eventually grind to a whimper, not a bang, it didn't stop them from being exactly what music needed right then. tonight's wholesale album of the week is...]

Track Listing

1. I Wanna Be Adored [click to download.]
2. She Bangs the Drums [click to download.]
3. Elephant Stone
4. Waterfall
5. Don't Stop
6. Bye Bye Badman
7. Elizabeth My Dear
8. (Song for My) Sugar Spun Sister [click to download.]
9. Made of Stone
10. Shoot You Down
11. This is the One
12. I Am the Resurrection [click to download.]

the Stone Roses - "Sally Cinnamon" (12" Single Mix) [from the sally cinnamon single released in 1987. this was one of the earliest releases by the stone roses and it predates their debut album by about 2 years. it's a tremendous song that is well worth hearing. click here to download.]

That'll do it for Extra Mayhem this week. Come back tomorrow evening for the album review of the new album by the National and I'll be back on Wednesday for J's Indie/Rock Mayhem. Take care.



Post a Comment

<< Home