J's Indie/Rock Mayhem

Playlists, podcasts and music from WQFS Greensboro's J's Indie/Rock Mayhem

Monday, July 30, 2007

extra mayhem - 29th july 2007

[so, i'm back. not fully healed, but enough to warble out another addition of j's extra mayhem. i'm still not sure how normal or abnormal my voice sounds (i guess i should check out the podcast) but i can at least talk and lecture with no pain. so that means that i'll be returning to wednesday night action this week as well. finally.

thanks to jon hatch for covering this show last week and thanks to mad dog and ben berkowitz for covering the wednesday night show in my surgical absence as well.

now. tonight was a good show, so i say, onward.]

J's Extra Mayhem Podcast: 29th July 2007 Show

Theme Song - Peaches - "Rock Show"
Blitzen Trapper - "Devil's A-Go-Go" [from the excellent wild mountain nation which has gotten comparisons to pavement's wowee zowee for its kaleidoscopic mish-mash of genres over its running time. it's a great record and really worth hearing.]
Jarvis Cocker - "Don't Let Him Waste Your Time" [not the kind of unabashed pop that i normally play on sunday nights, but a song that should be one of the best singles of the year, if jason isbell's "dress blues" hadn't thoroughly locked up the #1 spot already. from his self-titled album.]
Johnny Darrell - "Why You Been Gone So Long?" [from darrell's 1969 album of the same name. a great and over looked country-rock workman. his version of this song is lonely and rollicking at the same time.]
Black Moth Super Rainbow - "Spinning Cotton Candy in a Shack Made of Shingles" [more sugary, glittering day-glo pop from the really mesmerizing dandelion gum album. as far as having numerous songs worth playing on air, this album has been full of ready-made singles.]
the New Pornographers - "Myriad Harbour" [the first dan bejar song to be released from the forthcoming challengers album due on august 21st. admittedly, i'm a bigger fan of bejar's songs normally than a.c. newman (but i don't mean to slag newman and his pop genius by any means), so i was excited when this was leaked alongside the earlier newman-penned "my rights vs. yours." i'm really excited for the forthcoming album.]
Drive-by Truckers - "18 Wheels of Love" [from their debut album gangstabilly. for sarah, since i have been hipping her to the truckers of late and, in discussing dollywood, brought up this song which tells the story of patterson hood's mother's marriage at dollywood to a truck drivin' man. a beautiful love story if ever there was one.]
Wipers - "When It's Over" [from their 1981 album youth of america. wipers are one of those serious cult bands - my only knowledge of them was through nirvana's cover of their song "d-7." i dug in and found a wealth of great post-punk in their first three albums. a definitely early must-hear from the pacific northwest.]
the Stranglers - "Golden Brown" [from their 1983 album feline. as i said, this was lyricist hugh cornwell's ode to his mediterranean girlfriend and heroin. good for him to find space for both. but a seriously gorgeous song none the less. love that organ. i'm going to talk more about the stranglers in a bit.]
Iron and Wine - "Carried Home" [another new song off the new boy with a coin EP that is supposedly serving as a teaser for the forthcoming iron and wine full length later this year. ever since the woman king EP, sam beam has been on a tear and this EP is full of similarly moving work. this song has a hypnotic, trance-like feel as it winds its way through its 6 minutes.]
Negativland - "Christianity is Stupid" [from thier 1987 album escape from noise. another example of negativland's brilliant appropriation of found-sound/recorded audio being worked into music in new ways. no offense, obviously, is meant on my part.]
Lyle Lovett - "She's Already Made Up Her Mind" [from his 1992 album joshua judges ruth. an album that i'd love to feature on the wholesale feature some night. it's my favorite lovett record, which is a bit out of step with conventional wisdom, but i love the sentiment of the album. this song is one of the many, solemn, gorgeous tunes that fills the record.]
Leonard Cohen - "Tonight Will Be Fine" [from his second album, 1969's song from a room. i say '68 on the podcast, but i was thinking of when it was recorded. the jew's harp all over this album has always kinda made me snicker a bit, but the songs are far too lovely. lyrically, as he always is, it's amazing.]

[tonight's wholesale album comes to us from the 1995 britpop movement. as i talk about on the podcast, 'britpop' was as nebulous as the larger genre it was often classified under here in the states in the 90s: 'alternative.' anyone who can remember shopping in camelot music and going straight to the 'alternative' section knows what i'm talking about. but despite their maddeningly inaccurate inclusion in the 'britpop' movement, elastica was successful here in the u.s. (more so in britain, per usual) through a gutsy appropriation of the best parts of angular, sharp post-punk, circa 1979. their similarity to punk-legends wire is no mistake - they were a huge influence and it explodes across the band's self-titled debut.

one of the problems that resulted in this though was a touch of what two bands in particular called plagiarism: wire and the stranglers. wire filed suit against elastica claiming their songs "line up" and "connection" appropriated whole riffs from wire songs (specifically, "i am the fly" and "three girl rhumba"). their accusations are not unfounded. and elastica never really denied them. nor did they deny the accusation that their song "waking up" sounds suspiciously like the stranglers' "no more heroes." but this sort of hijacking of music was something the band claimed was just part of pop-music. that it was always being recycled and it was part of music's natural cycle. debatable, but it made for some really thrilling music in the interim. below the track listing, i've set up an area where you can compare the songs they supposedly plagiarized with the elastica songs.

though this band would only release one more full length (5 years later and to some critical drubbing), this record still sticks out to me as a highlight of the 90s and one of the most exciting records i've heard in my life. tonight's wholesale album of the week is the self-titled album from...]

Track Listing

1. Line Up [click here to listen.] (also included in podcast)*
2. Annie
3. Connection [click here to listen.]#
4. Car Song
5. Smile
6. Hold Me Now
7. S.O.F.T.
8. Indian Song
9. Blue
10. All Nighter
11. Waking Up [click here to listen.]^
12. 2:1
13. See That Animal
14. Stutter [click here to listen.]
15. Never Here [click here to listen.]
16. Vaseline

* compare to Wire - "I Am The Fly" [click to listen.]
# compare to Wire - "Three Girl Rhumba" [click to listen.]
^ compared to The Stranglers - "No More Heroes" [click to listen.]

- "Spastica" (live) [one of two songs i played from the radio one sessions, a collection of live elastica recordings live at the BBC. it's a great collection for fans of the band as it spreads across their career. these two songs were both recorded around the release of their self-titled album. this song appeared in its studio form as a b-side on the "connection" single.]
Elastica - "Brighton Rock" (live) [another live song. this appeared in its studio form as a b-side to the "waking up" single.]

That'll do it for Extra Mayhem this week. Next week, another mid-90s classic record from an artist that has, unfortunately, not been talked about as much recently either. So tune in on Wednesday for the teaser and I'll see you next week for another edition of Extra Mayhem. Take care.



Post a Comment

<< Home